Middle Aged Beauty Queen

Halfway Through Lent

Posted on: March 13, 2012

Today marks the half way point for Lent. For a few days prior to lent, I was thinking about what to give up. I was taught that you give up something, something special, during the period between Ash Wednesday and Easter. This is the time that Jesus was on the cross. In the old days Catholics would give up meat but with the onset of modern times that has been changed to eating fish on Fridays during lent. And to tell you the truth I don’t think too many Catholics follow the no meat on Friday tradition much anymore. At least I don’t and very few of my friends do.

Back to the nail polish….I normally give up chocolate for lent but this year I wanted to go back, old school and give up something that is special to me. As I’ve said before this obsession I have with fingernail polish is new. At Thanksgiving last year I owned 3 bottles of polish

20120313-165423.jpgon Ash Wednesday I owned over 50 bottles. That is a little excessive. Especially beings I don’t have a job or an income! Because of this, I decided to give up purchasing any more bottles of fingernail polish during lent. At times this has been hard. I watch a lot of You Tube videos and I would see a pretty polish on someone and want to buy it. I still watch the videos but now instead of buying a new bottle, I keep a list. I have an earlier post about my list. It is growing more every day. I have been forced to take stock of what I have. I have painted my polish on little nail wheels, you can buy them at the beauty supply store.
=”https://middleagedbeautyqueen.files.wordpress.com/2012/03/20120313-165942.jpg”&gt;20120313-165942.jpg<;;/a
One thing I have learned from this exercise is 1). I have a ton of brown-ish polish, 2) I have a ton of blue-ish polish 3) I have a ton of brownish blue gray-ish polish and 4) I keep buying the same color
Can you see that? Why is that?
This Lenten challenge hasn't been an easy one for me, but I think about my You Tube friend Teresa (screen name TeresaNC1) who gave up shopping, of all kinds, for lent. During the whole time of Lent Teresa gave up shopping. She initially gave up even grocery shopping but then realized her husband was better suited doing other chores and she resumed the grocery shopping duties. Even though I have given up purchasing nail polish, I still shop for it, and look at it. I wouldn't be honest if I didn't tell you I've even made it to the checkout with a bottle or two, only to give back to the clerk. I only have to think of my YT friend Teresa though and I know if she can accomplish her challenge then I can certainly attain my little goal. Only 20 more days!
Reminder:Julep Maven program can be started for only one cent. Go to their website here:Julep Maven Program
Use the code MARCHINTRO or COLOR2012. I had an email from them yesterday saying the MARCHINTRO code is still good.
thanks so much for reading, please leave me a comment, and if you gave up anything for lent, please let me know.

2 Responses to "Halfway Through Lent"

Stay strong your 1/2 way there!! I have trouble with not purchasing polishes too. But I think of my low-buy and that usually stops me. Plus my nails are wrecked right now and I won’t put polish on and draw attention to my icky fingers.

Like

Your poor nails look like they hurt..:(
Luckily they heal fast, won’t be long they’ll be back to beautiful. It’s gonna be a long 2 weeks. Every time I see someone’s polish in a video, I want to buy it. At least I’ve been using my polish I have more. Thanks for the encouragement April!

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories