Middle Aged Beauty Queen

What’s on My …. Vanity?

Posted on: April 15, 2012

I call this post “What’s on My … Vanity?” because I don’t have a vanity. I have a built in chest of drawers in my bathroom. On the top of the dresser I have a few things, jewelry box, radio, etc…
I have a couple of Longaberger baskets I use on the top to keep things in. I use this small one for things I’m either testing, or I want to try to use on a daily basis. If I didn’t keep these things in this basket they would get lost in the shuffle.

20120415-114123.jpg
For the past 6-8 weeks I have been keeping mascara samples in the small basket. For some reason I have received a good amount of mascara samples. I tried them all, this post is my findings.

20120415-114230.jpg
The mascara I tried are Estée Lauder Sumptuous, Bare Minerals Flawless Definition Volumizing, Too Faced Lash Injection, Tarte lights, camera, lashes!, Eyeko Skinny Brush and L’Oreal Voluminous Original. I also had a couple of samples of Sephora’s Full Lash, or Lash Full. I didn’t care for it and I gave the sample to a friend, who likes it, to take with her on a cruise.

Check out my You Tube video and learn how to tell the difference between a lengthening and voluminizing mascara. And why it is important, as we get older to use the lengthening mascara.
You Tube video of my mascara review
Even though I know there are a lot of women on You Tube that love the Tarte lights, camera, lashes! I am not a fan. It seemed very dry and flaky to me. The other one that I did not care for at all was Bare Minerals Flawless Definition Volumizing. It flaked all day long and by the end of the day it was all but gone.
The ones I liked are the Estée Lauder Sumptuous. I had 2 samples of this and it is a great mascara. You have to remember I’m a product of the 70’s and we liked our mascara in the 70’s! This is not to say that the EL is a goopy mascara typical of the era, it is not. It has a very rich, easy to apply formula. It made my lashes look longer and fuller. Isn’t that why we wear mascara? For the same reason I also liked the Too Faced and the Eyeko. I went back and forth between those two, couldn’t decide which one to purchase. I finally purchased the Eyeko, strictly because of the skinny brush.

20120415-115310.jpg
It goes on great, and really lengthens my lashes. Because of the skinny wand it gets all the little teeny tiny lashes and makes them look like the rest! It is a very wet formula, and may be too goopy for some. I like goopy.
In the photo, there is the tiny brush from Clinique’s Bottom Lash. I haven’t tried the Clinique mascara but it is purported to last a good couple of days. I tried using that little brush, but I didn’t have much luck with it. It would be easier to apply mascara using the little brush if it was a tad bit longer. I will keep trying though because as I have gotten older, my eyelashes have disappeared, on the bottom and in the corners. These little brushes are brilliant at finding those.
Even after all this testing, I still go back to my favorite mascara of all time, L’Oreal’s Voluminous Original. I have been using this mascara for at least 30 years, and for me, it is the best. It is cheap, $8.99, but I always buy when it is on sale. I usually can get it on a BOGO, and I always stock up so there is always a back up in my drawer.

20120415-120343.jpg
I think it’s the best! What is your favorite mascara of all time?
Coming up next month in my basket will be eyeshadows.

4 Responses to "What’s on My …. Vanity?"

The next time I buy mascara I am going to try your fav. ( I just opened one and have a few others on the go not including 2 still in packages) I try to use one at a time, can’t stand being wasteful and having them dry out on me. I love most L’oreal products so I gotta try it. Have I told you lately I love your blog?
Diane

Like

Thanks Diane! That means a lot to me. I put a lot of work into it. Do you like this layout? I think this is the one I’m sticking with. Thanks again! XoXo –Judi

Like

Nice longaberger 🙂 ill have to try some of these out too! I am currently using avon supershock, love it!

Like

For some reason in the last month I’d gotten those samples, otherwise I’d use the L’Oreal. Thanks so much for commenting. Xoxo — Judi

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories

