Middle Aged Beauty Queen

NOTD: OPI He’s My Surfing Instructor

Posted on: August 7, 2012

I’ve always had a thing for blue and green. Love the combination of the two colors. This summer OPI re- promoted a bunch of colors and sold them at Ulta. They were called the Ulta Summer 2012 collection, but really if you have the Pirates of the Carribean, Holland or the Katy Perry collection, you have “the Ulta Summer 2012” collection.

20120807-215723.jpg. This is OPI Your Palapa or Mine on my pinky, Do my Back Please? On my ring finger, Your Palapa or Mine again, Catrice Blue Cara Ciao and on my thumb Catrice Hip Queens wear blue jeans. Schwoo! That’s a lot of colors for 5 little fingers.💅

20120807-215944.jpg

20120807-215956.jpg

20120807-220004.jpg. These are the same colors, somewhat different order, but hopefully you get the picture. The point is I really love blue and green together, I always have. I have this OPI Blue jelly glitter called He’s My Surfing Instructor, which is really Last Friday Night from the Katy Perry collection, and I thought since I had more green going on in this manicure, I would add the blue glitter of HMSI. This is exactly how to mess up a manicure and the need to re-polish arises.

20120807-220331.jpg. See, it’s pretty right? Not so much. I wish the base color was as deep of a blue as it shows in the bottle, but sadly it’s not, it’s more of a very light blue with all the glitter. Now you all know I’m not a fan of the glitter polishes, but I thought blue, green, blue-green together with glitter. Yea,I don’t think so.

20120807-220543.jpg.
Sadly, I do have some of these polishes for sale on my Nail Polish for Sale page but really if you have Thanks a Windmillion from the Holland collection, it is very similar, as is Mermaids Tears from the Pirates of the Caribbean collection. Your Palapa or Mine? is very reminiscent of Jade is the new Black, and of course He’s My Surfing Instructor is really Last Friday Night from the Katy Perry collection. But if you missed out on any of these colors from those collections I hope you will visit my Nail Polish for Sale page and have a look. I’m still offering free shipping to the US and Canada.
I shouldn’t be so negative about this collection, but I really don’t like it when a company does a re-promote with polish, 😝**cough** Revlon Perplex/Naughty, Facets of Fuschia/Scandalous,**cough,cough**😝 I could go on and on. A lot of people collect the collections from OPI and without knowing it, you will wind up with duplicates. Polish is expensive enough, OPI is by no means a bargain brand, and I just think they should be up front about what they are doing and then let us, the customer decide. I’m sure there are plenty of people that missed out on Thanks a Windmillion and would love Do My Back Please? If they knew it was the same color, same with the HMSI.
I went on- line to see what I could find out about this polish, usually I go to the company website and get the info on the collection, release dates, full colors in the collection, etc… Man it’s like a ghost town where these colors are concerned. Which might be good for someday in the future, who knows they could classified as HTF and sell for $30 a bottle on eBay. Yea, I don’t think so.

20120807-223514.jpg. The 2 bottles in the middle are from this summers collection. The dark green on the left is Jade is the New Black and the far right is Thanks a Windmillion. To my eye there is no difference in the colors.
I don’t know how to end this post. When I started I thought it was going to be a quick NOTD, but in doing my research on the fly as I do, all this other entered I to the picture. Hopefully this was helpful to some of you, hopefully you will not duplicate a polish you already have because of a re-promote. I’m going to work on finding a website that lists re-promotes. Surely there has to be something like that out there on the www?
Anyway, as always, thanks for stopping by. I have a cute picture of my daughter I was going to show you, but I’ll save it for another time.😄

4 Responses to "NOTD: OPI He’s My Surfing Instructor"

Very informative.Thanks Judi.

Like

Thanks Linda for commenting and stopping by, I always love to see your comments. Xoxo

Sent from my iPad

Like

Love the blue green combo momma! Looks beautiful on your nails and I bet it looks even cuter with your blond hair and stunning blue eyes! xoxoxo

Like

Why, thank you beautiful daughter of mine. Heart you. Mwahhhh!

Sent from my iPad

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories

