Middle Aged Beauty Queen

50 Shades of Sunday ~ Demure Vix by Essie

Posted on: September 9, 2012

For those of you new to my blog, welcome! This is a series I do every Sunday. It’s where I use a polish from my collection that I have never worn, for whatever reason. It’s a way for me to use my polish, not just look at it, but wear it. I hope this inspires you to take a look at your collection and maybe wear one you haven’t. You’d be surprised at the gem you might find!

20120909-121713.jpg
Today I have on demure vix by Essie. I bought this polish months ago at Ross. It was $1.99, a price not to be passed on. I also bought some other Essie that day including sand tropez, nice is nice and coat azure. These were all from the Spring 2011 Essie collection.
I really like this color and I think it is on trend for this fall. Seems like this fall it is all about the nudes and deep maroon colors. This color is also very reminiscent of a new polish from Deborah Lippmann called Modern Love. The photo below is Modern Love.

20120909-122702.jpg
demure vix is more purple but it has as much depth and dimension as Modern Love. I like them both. demure vix has a slight shimmer and a slight purple/rose duo-chrome, which adds to the interest.
What is it with Essie polish and their formula? Essie is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re going to get!Thanks for the quote, Forest, This started out fine, then in the middle of painting a nail a huge drop would find its way down the brush and onto the nail. So then I would take off as much polish as possible and it was streaky like no other. It wasn’t a difficult task to paint my nails but I don’t like that globbing thing this polish does. I think goopy is almost better than this. Especially when I was on the last coat, I did not want any globs! I guess that is the charm of Essie?
demure vix in sunlight.

20120909-123336.jpg

I would give this polish 4 out of 5 stars. 4 might be pushing it because of the gooping, maybe 3.5. You guys know what I’m saying. I do love the color, I love the price, just not the formula. All that being said I might just wear this one for a few days!

20120909-124008.jpg
This is me and my “boyfriend” circa 1977-79. Can you see how skinny I was in my size zero jeans? I thought I was fat and my “boyfriend” would always tell me I should do sit ups and go jogging to get off the extra weight. My “boyfriend” would order for me in restaurants, he would get me the dieter’s plate with cottage cheese. When I look at this picture today I am SOOO glad I moved back to Idaho in 1979 and away from the crazy “boyfriend”. I also wonder what the “boyfriend” looks like today. Somehow I think he is pretty much bald and overweight.

As always, thanks for stopping by!

6 Responses to "50 Shades of Sunday ~ Demure Vix by Essie"

Is this Demure Vixen?I could not find it and gave up and bought Lady Like which is similar but has no shimmer:(

Like

I just had to check out which polish you chose for Sunday! Pretty, pretty!

Like

It is demure vix. Jilly took my bottle of Lady Like. I was going to send you a photo of the two, lady like is more beige, demure vix is more purple. Not alike at all. I got this at Ross and it is from 2 springs ago so it might be hard to find. It was part of the French collection, where all the names had a French connotation. Lady like is pretty, you will likeit.:))

Sent from my iPad

Like

Thanks Diane! Xoxo

Sent from my iPad

Like

Beautiful polishes. Yikes though about the “boyfriend”. Sounds like you dodged a bullet there.

Like

Thanks Indie! Yes, bullet definetly dodged! Funny how you look back and so, so happy about that but at the time I was heart broken! Ha!

Sent from my iPad

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories

