Middle Aged Beauty Queen

Nailphilia ~ London’s 1st Nail Art Exhibition

Posted on: September 21, 2012

This is just one of several exhibits shown at DegreeArt.com Gallery exhibiting “Nailphilia” London’s 1st Nail Art Exhibit.. Now for those of you who read me on a regular basis, this is not my usual post. But you all know I read the Internet about nails, nail polish, nail art all the time. I read a myriad of nail blogs, magazines articles and anything and everything to do with my addiction, nail polish. I came across this stunning work of nail art and had to share it with you.
I contacted Ryan Lanji and asked for his express permission to use these photographs and he said yes, as long as I included his name, website and twitter name. So you can contact Ryan Lanji at http://www.ryanlanji.com or twitter @ryanlanji. I want to make it perfectly clear I did not take these photographs but I did obtain permission, prior to publishing,

It wasn’t that long ago that nail art was considered along the lines of tattoos, not very well respected and certainly not main stream. Manicurists were considered a necessary evil by most designers for fashion shows. They knew they had to have them but not much thought was given to the actual nail completing an outfit or telling the story the designer wanted to tell. This has all changed in the last decade. Just last week was Fashion Week in New York (NYFW) and I believe London is in the midst of fashion week now (LFW) along with Paris, Milan, and all the other fashion capitals of the world.

20120921-230317.jpg
This was the first piece that caught my eye. I think these nails are stunning and I have nothing but respect for the design, and work that went into the making of these nails. Would I ever wear these nails? No, I would not because I am an old woman but these nails would be brilliant at a young girls wedding. Don’t you think?

20120921-231212.jpg
This set of nails instantly made me think of my friend Coco. Coco loves to be-jewel her nails in the style of the old Japanese artistry. She would totally rock this look.

20120921-231331.jpg
Although I love all the pictures of these nails, I think this is my favorite. It’s the accountant in me. I cannot help but to like a straight, balanced line and when those lines are paired with colors in straight and balanced forms making boxes, well I’m in heaven. The following are some of the pictures from the art gallery showing Nailphilia

20120921-231604.jpg

20120921-231617.jpg

20120921-231632.jpg

20120921-231707.jpg

20120921-231722.jpg

20120921-231735.jpg
I’m sure you are all aware that nail polish has taken over lipstick when economists are gauging the course of an economy. In the year 2011 724 new nail polish colors were released. So far in the year 2012 over 1000 new nail polish colors have been released. Oddly enough, for both years 27% of the colors released have been pinks. Nail polish sales are through the roof. I think this beautiful gallery display of nail art called “Nailphilia, London’s 1st Nail Art Exhibit” won’t be the last of such exhibit.
I have just barely scratched the surface of this exhibit. For more information and to see the full exhibit, complete with music and videos, please go toRyan’s installation at the gallery. You will not be disappointed, and you will be thoroughly entertained, IMO.
Now my beauties, it is still my blog after all, what’s on my nails?

20120921-233225.jpg
Turquoise by Barry M. God I love this polish, I love this brand. I wish I had every color made in the cream formula. Love it! Did I tell you I love Barry M polishes? Fitting for a post about a “Nailphilia” gallery showing in London, as Barry M is only available in the UK. Dang. I still love it, and I love my friends Diana and Nicky who so kindly send me Barry M polish. For that I am very grateful!

As always, thanks for stopping by. Please visit Ryan’s gallery installation, you will Thank me!
Mwahhhh

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories