Middle Aged Beauty Queen

#10 My Top 10 Nail Polish by Brand ~ Deborah Lippmann

Posted on: October 1, 2012

I often get asked what is the best brand of nail polish. Because of that, I have been working all summer on comparing different brands of nail polish. I compared over 28 brands of nail polish, all available in the US. Meaning this comparison of brands does not include any Barry M or other brands only available in the UK. I scored the different brands using these 5 items of criteria: brush/bottle, formula, price, dry time, and wear. These are the items that are important to me in a nail polish.
When I was finished there were 3 brands that had 5/5 stars. 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

20121001-113020.jpg
#10 on this list is Deborah Lippmann nail polish. Deborah Lippmann scored a 4/5 and lost a star for price. DL polish prices out at $36/ounce. Deborah Lippmann polishes earned a star on every other point of the criteria used.
To purchase Deborah Lippmann Nail Polish

20121001-113500.jpg
Modern Love from Deborah Lippmann is my first DL polish. I bought this at Nordstrom for $16. I do love this polish. I love the color, it seems to be just beige but it has a lot of dimension to it giving it tons of interest. Great color for this fall!

20121001-113722.jpg
A friend of mine sent me Private Dancer and Naked. Private Dancer is a metallic chrome finish that seems purple in some light, then is can look brown, blue and green. I like this polish a lot!

    . I also like Naked but my daughter “borrowed” Naked from me so I don’t have it to show in a picture.

20121001-113946.jpg
How gorgeous is My Old Flame? This was sent to me by a friend and I love this red! I never used to like red nail polish but I have been wearing this and Russian Red by MAC so often lately. I’m loving the red nail polish! πŸ’ƒ

This is all the Deborah Lippmann polishes I own. I do really like this brand of polish and I’m so grateful to my friends Indie and Gina for sending those to me, otherwise I would have 1 bottle of DL. I do not own Mermaid’s Dream from DL, yes, I’m the one. I think every other person on the planet has this polish and it seems to be a favorite among many. At the height of Mermaid’s Dream popularity I did buy one, to send to a friend. It took some doing to get my hands on it, but now it seems to be readily available. That doesn’t mean I will buy it anytime soon. I really like the DL polishes but I do not think I will be buying any more of this brand. πŸ˜„

As always, thanks for stopping by! πŸ’—

13 Responses to "#10 My Top 10 Nail Polish by Brand ~ Deborah Lippmann"

I don’t own any DL polish, so you have company as far as Mermaid’s Dream is concerned. I love your posts and your videos on nail polish; they are very in-depth and informative, which is really appreciated, especially when pondering purchases of expensive brands.

Like

Thanks so much! What a nice comment! Xoxo

Sent from my iPad

Like

That is a very nice red!!

Like

Yes, def one of my favorites. A year ago I did not like red polish, did not own one and now this year, I’m loving red! Ha! I wonder why? Thanks so much commenting. Xoxo

Sent from my iPad

Like

Would you have a dupe for Chanel Rouge Carat 587? I can’t find any.
Love your blog!

Like

Thanks Kati, I’m sorry but I do t know of a dupe for that one. From what I’ve read online though, it is an easy one to dupe and mostly OPI would be the place to look. I’ll see if I can find something, I’ll let you know. Thanks again! Xoxo

Like

Thank you so much!

Like

I object! #10 😦 I looove DL! I have Mermaids Dreams, haha. If this is 10’I cannot wait to see what is number 1. I look forward to it πŸ™‚

Like

You will be surprised, I’m sure! I love DL too, but I couldn’t give her a star for price, it priced out at $36…… My cut off point for a star was $15. Thanks so much for stopping by and for the comment! Xoxo

Sent from my iPad

Like

Hi Kati, I picked up Orient Express by Revlon tonight, it’s a limited edition set from Gucci Westman. Looks an awful lot like the Chanel rouge carat. I haven’t seen the Chanel one in person so I can’t call it a dupe but they are close. If you get a chance check it out and then please let me know what you think. Thanks! — Judi

Like

Thank you so much!
Will have a look in my local Boots, it shows on their website. (Β£6.49 here!)
I can’t find any swatches on the net.
Will let you know what I think, if they have it in stock, although I haven’t seen Rouge Carat in person either.

Like

I sent you a picture of the Revlon. Indoors under lights but tomorrow I’ll take one in the sun. I hope you can find it, it seems pretty close to me!

Let me know how you come out! Xoxo Sent from my iPad

Like

Thank you, I really appreciate it! It looks beautiful, I cannot wait to get one!

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories

