Middle Aged Beauty Queen

#8 My Top10 Nail Polish by Brand Comparison ~ OPI

Posted on: October 3, 2012

I often get asked what is the best brand of nail polish. Because of that, I have been working all summer on comparing different brands of nail polish. I compared over 28 brands of nail polish, all available in the US. Meaning this comparison of brands does not include any Barry M or other brands only available in the UK. I scored the different brands using these 5 items of criteria: brush/bottle, formula, price, dry time, and wear. These are the items that are important to me in a nail polish. When I was finished there were 3 brands that had all 5/5 stars! ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

20121003-002756.jpg
This is You Don’t Know Jacques (YDKJ) from OPI. I used this color specifically while testing OPI brand of nail polish. This is the manicure I would wear for at least 4 days. This manicure took a beating and did not look very good at the end of those 4 days.

20121003-003040.jpg

20121003-003113.jpg
I was trying to show you the tip wear after 4 days. And the thing you have to remember is, I do not have a J-O-B, I live by myself so there is not a lot of house work to be done, not too much laundry, etc. I know in the real world I would most definitely just paint over the tips and go on with my day. But for the purposes of this test I wanted to be able to document the tip wear.

20121003-003506.jpg
Gloss $ Skull Bones by OPI from the Pirates of the Carribean collection. This is one of my favorite polishes I own from OPI. It looks white, but it is off white with a green cast to it. So pretty, I wore this one so often this summer.

20121003-003842.jpg
Berlin There, Done That by OPI from the new Germany collection. From their brochure “A travelling taupe that’s seen it all. (Yep, that too). cream finish

20121003-003923.jpg
Un-for-Greta-Bly Blue by OPI from the Germany collection. Everyone’s favorite Frรคulein loves this uber shiny blue. Frost finish

20121003-004301.jpg
Nein! Nein! Nein! OK Fine! by OPI from the Germany collection. In this picture, and on me in general this had a strong green cast to it. In the bottle it is a deep charcoal gray with green and blue shimmer running through it. My friend Diana bought one of these from me, and she said on her it did not show up green like this one did on me. It really is a much prettier polish than what the picture shows.
“A bodacious black olive? We say Ja! Ja! Ja!”/em>. Cream finish

20121003-004405.jpg
Every Month is Oktoberfest! by OPI from the Germany collection
Prost! Here’s to the prettiest plum in the Biergarten” shimmer finish

20121003-005509.jpg
I Don’t Give a Rotterdam by OPI from the Holland collection. The only other polish from the Holland collection I bought were Gouda Gouda Two Shoes and Thanks a Windmillion, oh and Wooden Shoes Like to Know. The IDGAR is a blue cream with a gorgeous silver micro glitter running through. One of my all time favorites.

20121003-010228.jpg
My Mom loves Gouda, Gouda Two Shoes on her, and I also agree with her. It’s a great color for anyone really. It’s a soft mauve-y rose color with the tiniest hint of silver micro shimmer. Very pretty. Thanks a Windmillion is a cream medium green, compared a lot to Mermaid’s Tears from the Pirates of the Caribbean collection.

20121003-010719.jpg
These are all my OPI’s all lined up like little soldiers going into battle. It seems to me I have either very light colors or very dark, not too many in between. I’ll have to work on that. For some reason when a new collection comes out, I am drawn to the blues, and dark colors. ๐Ÿ’…
OPI received 4/5 stars when all the testing was done. I think the minor tip wear shown is normal and like I said I would just paint the tips where needed and keep on with my day. They did lose a star for price. In my area OPI sells for between $9-10. That makes it $18 per ounce. The cut off point for price was $15 per ounce.โ˜€โ˜€โ˜€โ˜€
Across the board OPI nail polish brand is a hard one to beat. They come out with fun collections almost simultaneously with each other, which makes it fun to go find the new ones and pick up what you really like only to come home and realize oh, I already have 4 bottles of brown polish. Oh well! We love it anyway! The formula is consistent, self levels, does not pool, dries fast and with the newer fatter brush they’ve implicated, I really like this brand of polish.

20121003-012858.jpg
The current collection from OPI, Germany Collection is a gorgeous collection. There are 3 different shades of nude, a chartreuse green, the gray, blue, orange, a couple of reds, a purple and 2 stunning maroons. You can purchase any OPI, China Glaze or Venique from me. The price of OPI and China Glaze is $8 plus shipping and Venique is $7 plus shipping. (as a side note, I do not sell polish I have used, ewww! I get all the polish I sell from a distributor. He gives me a break on the price and sometimes he will throw in free shipping. Not all the time, but sometimes and if he does it again, I will always pass that on to you..
If you would like to order any OPI, China Glaze or Venique polish from, please email me at Judi.Tierney@yahoo.com. Let me know what you want along with your mailing address. I will send you an invoice through PayPal and once it is paid I will ship right away. If you have any questions please ask!
As always, Thanks so much for stopping by๐Ÿ’…

8 Responses to "#8 My Top10 Nail Polish by Brand Comparison ~ OPI"

Great stuff!!Love OPI.You had a very busy summer doing all this testing,thanks a lot for the info!

Like

One polish closer! Love Opi and I am quite loving Berlin there done that. Gouda Gouda two shoes looks very pretty on mom, I think my mother would love it too!

Like

OPI is a great brand! So glad you stopped by, I can’t wait for #1, I think you will be SURPRISED! Xoxo– Judi

Sent from my iPad

Like

Love these posts! You have a wonderful collection!
I really like Berlin There Done That and Gouda Gouda Two Shoes too!
Might just check out Skull Bones as well. I do really like all the new shades/names OPI comes up with, unfortunately as with everything they are not as readily available here in the UK and their price is a lot dearer.
I bet Revlon is going to be right at the top and perhaps Essie and Zoya will be hovering near there. I know Orly is very popular in the US too, although I have never tried them.
I’m so looking forward to all the posts till number one. Thanks for all the effort you have put into this! Have a wonderful day!

Like

You are def going to be surprised! If you ever want any OPI or china Glaze or Venique I can get it for you for $8 plus shipping of course. I just charge the actual ship rate. I have a distributor I buy from so it is new polish and you can tell me what colors you want. If you have a PayPal I can send it to you. I’d be thrilled to!

I can’t wait for #1 for you, the top three may surprise you. The brands left off may surprise you as well. Thanks so much for commenting. Talk to you soon.

Like

Thank you for offering to ship to the UK! You are very, very kind! I may take you up on it one day.
I’m super excited about your upcoming posts!

Like

Great review on OPI nail polish I love this polish and you are right about their collection very fun colors. There are a lot of options with OPI so many colors to choose from decisions, decisions.

Like

Thanks! I’m glad you liked it.

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories