Middle Aged Beauty Queen

#4 My TopTen Nail Polish by Brand

Posted on: October 7, 2012

I often get asked what is the best brand of nail polish. Because of that, I have been working all summer on comparing different brands of nail polish. I compared over 28 brands of nail polish, all available in the US. Meaning this comparison of brands does not include any Barry M or other brands only available in the UK. I scored the different brands using these 5 items of criteria: brush/bottle, formula, price, dry time, and wear. These are the items that are important to me in a nail polish. When I was finished there were 3 brands that had all 5/5 stars! 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

20121007-210240.jpg
Number 4 on my top ten list of nail polishes by brand is Revlon. This is one of my favorite Revlon polish called Cherries in the Snow. CITS was released by Revlon right after WWII and to this day it is one of their top sellers. I loved this ad used for CITS

20121007-211002.jpg
And this more current ad:

20121007-211218.jpg
All these years later it is still a very current color and I believe it will always be a part of the Revlon line. Of course there is a lipstick that matches. I love wearing the lipstick to match my lips to my tips when I’m in a classic mode. It doesn’t get any better than that.

20121007-211450.jpg
Smoldering, is a silver gray duo-chrome that is kind of a fussy polish to wear. I had a hard time with this polish until I learned the secret to applying and now it goes on and wears like a dream. The. Trick is to apply this polish in thin coats. Sometimes it might take 3 coats, but when done you have a beautiful manicure. Every time I wear this polish people comment on it and want to know what it is.

20121007-211815.jpg
Revlon Golden Charms.

20121007-211911.jpg
Revlon Winter Mist, mini. I think this has been added to the permanent line with the name Chic.

20121007-212209.jpg

20121007-212253.jpg

20121007-212326.jpg

20121007-212358.jpg
These are some of my Revlon pictures, the last one is called Ruby and is a mini. I found a set of 3 mini’s at K-Mart early this summer but have not seen them since. I have a mini Rock Star which is a purple, a mini Gold Coin and a mini CITS. The light blue one is called Dreamer and is a beautiful cream finish. I also love the dark cream finish from Revlon:

20121007-213352.jpg
This is After Party with Infamous as an accent nail from the Gucci Westman collection for Revlon which is a limited edition collection.

20121007-213712.jpg
This is Copper Penny from Revlon a gorgeous rose gold.

20121007-213843.jpg
Revlon Infamous also from the Gucci Westman collection. This one does not have a number along with the name which means it is not a part of their regular line and it is a limited edition. I love this color, go figure, it’s orange! I never thought I could wear orange nail polish but this one is different, not to mention gorgeous!

20121007-214142.jpg
Revlon Fashionista, one of my favorites!

20121007-214357.jpg
Plum Seduction by Revlon is very much like Zoya Audrina.

20121007-214636.jpg
Midnight Affair by Revlon is a stunning, classic color.

20121007-215358.jpg
Gray Suede from Revlon is a new favorite of mine. I just found this one late this summer and wore it a lot. It is very close to CHANEL Frenzy but it is one of those polishes that at first glance looks like a beige in color. But the more you look at it, and as the light changes you see there is so much dimension and interest in this polish. A boring beige polish, never. This is one of the most interesting polishes I own and I love it.
πŸ’…πŸ’…back to the “study” and Revlon coming in at #4 in the study. Revlon got 4/5 stars 🌟🌟🌟🌟
A half a star was deducted for formula. For the most part Revlon formulas are consistent and you always know what you’ll get with Revlon, except in some of the newer formulations with micro glitters, such as Carbonite, they can be a little gloppy. I took off half a star for this because it was not a problem with all those types of formulas. I also took off half a star because of the brush. I do not care for a thin brush. Some of the lines have thinner brushes than other lines. The Top Speed fast dry nail polish has what I would call a normal Revlon brush, but the gel formula polish has a thin brush. So, they lost a half a star. Which put Revlon at Number 4 on my list of Top Ten Nail Polish by Brand. πŸ’…
Revlon is a great American company and if you are looking for some interesting reading about the history of the company there are many articles about Charles Revson, the founder of Revlon. One of the interesting things I found was his desire to map out his cosmetic company using the same guidelines used by General Motors. At the time, it seemed crazy, but looking back it was nothing short of genius. Revson held each department accountable for their bottom line which was un-heard of in the cosmetic industry at the time. Also, at the same time Helena Rubenstein and Elizabeth Arden were having an out and out war both private and publicly. This also contributed to Revlon’s success.
One of my favorite genre of books to read are historical biographys and there are some great articles and books about the life of Charles Revson which makes for some interesting reading, if you enjoy those types of books.

As always, thanks so much for stopping by! The top 3 are next, these next 3 brands all got 5/5 stars, the only ones of the 28 plus brands I looked at.

13 Responses to "#4 My TopTen Nail Polish by Brand"

I own lots of Revlon polishes too.My favorite that I wore for years was Platinum Lame.I was so disappointed when they changed the formulation and made it peach when it used to be pink:( I do love Gray Suede and others that you have mentioned.Cherries In The Snow is not to be found at any store around where I live,but as I recall,it did not suit my skin tone.I would love to take a look at it for old times sake though!Good information about Charles Revson too–he was a great innovator .Thanks so much Judi!

Like

If you don’t like CITS you might try Fire & Ice, or Plum Seduction those are both beautiful classic colors. I’m so glad you liked this posting. Sometimes I can get carried away when talking about Revson, I think he was one of America’s great entrepreneurs and gets very little credit for what he did.
But, anyway I got your address and I will def send you some samples the next time I get some. Thanks Linda! Xoxo

Like

Cherries in the Snow used to be my signature nail & lip color. I haven’t worn it in years but, reading this makes me want to go out to get them. I really enjoyed hearing the history of Revlon. I enjoy biographies too.

Like

I bet CITS looks really nice on you, you def should pick up! Thanks so much for stopping by. Xoxox

Sent from my iPad

Like

I really like Revlon polishes too! You’ve just reminded me I have Midnight Affair in my collection, thanks! A great shade for Winter πŸ™‚ x

Like

midnight Affair is a classic, I think. Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting. I really appreciate. Xoxox

Like

They all look lovely on you!
I love Revlon polishes, but only have a couple. Revlon Red, Cherries In The Snow, sheer Nude, Sheer Pink, Grey Suede, Orient Express. Unfortunately due to my job I can only wear darker/more colourful shades on my toes. Our uniform standard only allows us to wear nude, shades of pink or red.
Can’t wait for your upcoming posts!

Like

I love that beige shade. I have Dreamer and I wasn’t a big fan of the formula and havnt picked up a Revlon Polish since, maybe the brand deserves a re-visit. πŸ™‚

Like

Thanks so much for the comment. The top 3 are coming. These next 3 all received 5/5 stars! I’m anxious to see what you all think, I think you’ll be surprised! Xoxo

Sent from my iPad

Like

Definitely, I would get Naughty, Cherries in the Snow and Gray Suede. Then I think you’ll be hooked! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Xoxo

Sent from my iPad

Like

At least you can wear pretty colors n your toes and you have a job! I would rather have a job! Thanks so much for stopping by! Xoxo

Sent from my iPad

Like

Forgotten about One Perfect Coral. πŸ™‚

Like

[…] When pondering over which nail colour to paint my talons this weekend I drew inspiration from a post I read a couple of weeks agoΒ by Middle Aged Beauty Queen. take a look here if you fancy 4-my-topten-nail-polish-by-brand […]

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 334 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories

