Middle Aged Beauty Queen

#1 Nail Polish by Brand

Posted on: October 16, 2012

I often get asked what is the best brand of nail polish. Because of that, I have been working all summer on comparing different brands of nail polish. I compared over 28 brands of nail polish, all available in the US. Meaning this comparison of brands does not include any Barry M or other brands only available in the UK. I scored the different brands using these 5 items of criteria: brush/bottle, formula, price, dry time, and wear. These are the items that are important to me in a nail polish. When I was finished there were 3 brands that had all 5/5 stars! 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

20121016-190230.jpg
So, YES! Wet n Wild Mega Last is my #1 nail polish by brand. Surprised? Probably not as much as I was. You see, the Mega Last is only $1.99 at all drug stores. But it is surprisingly a great nail polish brand.

20121016-190516.jpg
My first 2 Wet n Wild Mega Last, and my favorites. The pink one is Candy-Licious and the purple one is Through the Grapevine. I’ve written about Candy-Licious before on this blog. It is very close to CHANEL’s May, it’s not an exact dupe, but about as close as you can get. If you love May but not the $26 price tag, then get Candy-Licious, no one will know the difference.

20121016-190843.jpg
This is Private Viewing. Not my favorite, I’ll give you 3 guesses why. VNL. Hate it with a passion, this is very sheer. The picture is with 2 coats, as always. I think it would take 4 to hide the VNL.

20121016-191042.jpg
On a Trip is one of my new favorites. It is very much like Essie’s Play Date. Which is one of my all time favorite polishes. I like the formula of WnW so much better than Essie.

20121016-191216.jpg
I Need a Refresh-Mint is one of Mega Last’s cult favorites. This mint color is a perfect balance between turquoise and green, with just a hint of a blue undertone to make mint look great on all skin tones. Mine included. I have a tough time with “mint” colors but the WnW is gorgeous, especially in the heat of the summer.

20121016-195215.jpg
Disturbia is one of those interesting colors, great for this time of year. Very dark, very classic looking. The formula is fantastic on this polish. Love it!

20121016-195321.jpg
Candy-Licious one more time. Such a perfect pink. The whole line of Wet n Wild Mega Last has a great formula, wear time is perfect (for me) dry time is great, I love the bottle and I am a fan of the “Manicurve Pro Wide brush. I know not everyone likes this brush but for me it is a great size for one stroke application, I can get close to the cuticle but not go over.
The main reason Mega Last made it to the #1 position is because of the price. In my area they are $1.99 a bottle, that works out to about $2.98 an ounce. The #2 polish brand was $14.98 an ounce. So you can see why it made the top spot. The Mega Last formula, wear etc… Compares with Deborah Lippmann (creams) and butter London in all things except price.
Con: The 1 thing I don’t like about Wet n Wild Mega Last is the availability of colors. In my little town there are 5 stores that stock this line. All 5 stores stock the same 9 colors. I happen to know there are many more than 9 colors in this brand and it kinda pisses me off that WnW displays only allow 9 slots. Being a former store owner I know they (Wet n Wild) have a ‘store rep’ who goes to all the stores and re-stocks the display. You’d think it would dawn on someone that they need a variety of colors. But, alas and alack (what?) they don’t.
I have picked up the different colors I have in my collection by shopping while out of town.

πŸ’…so, that is my #1 nail polish brand after all summer of trying over 30 brands. Tell me, what do you think?
πŸŽƒ Agree or not so much?

As always, thanks for stopping by.
πŸ‘»

11 Responses to "#1 Nail Polish by Brand"

Love this series you did,and how much work you put into it.I do like the polishes.I own one called Sugar Coat,which depending on who you listen to,is a dupe for either Orly Confetti or OPI Bubble Bath.I’m glad the suspense is over and your results are in!The winner and champion is W&W.Thanks again xo

Like

Oh, wow!
I have never tried any WnW nail polish before. Will definitely try them in the future.
Great serious, thanks! I was kind of hoping the winner would be available in the UK, but never mind.
Thank you for all your hard work, it has been very exciting!

Like

I’m sorry it’s not available to you in the UK. I really don’t know what is and isn’t available, sorry. You are lucky you have Barry M, because if you want to know the truth, my favorite brand I’ve ever used is Barry M. And Catrice is up there in the Top 5. πŸ™‚

Sent from my iPad

Like

Congrates !!
you really make a very hard and long job !!!!
I’m going to look for this brand in LA,
I hope that I can find thems,
because I want to come back in France with all the colors !!!
Thank you so much for your mindless !!!
Muriel

Like

kindless !!! sorry

Like

You are Welcome. I hope you find them while you are here. Thank you for stopping by and for commenting. πŸ™‚

Sent from my iPad

Like

Wow! Really? I have 8 bottles of Barry M nail polish in my drawer (bought them on sale) and I have never even tried them. I will definitely get them out.
Thank you!

Like

Omg! I think they are a great brand and my nails feel stronger when I’m wearing Barry M, more so than any other brand. Please, let me know what you think after you try! Xoxo

Sent from my iPad

Like

Ahh there it is! I am very surprised indeed! I will definitely check this out, maybe in Disturbia great color and name! I enjoyed this series! πŸ™‚

Like

Thanks so much for sticking with me! I think you will particularly like Disturbia. If you like CHANEL May, you might try Candy-Licious as well. Also, Wet Cement from the Mega Last line is the same as Merino Cool from Essie, or Commander in Chic from Sally Hansen. It is that great mushroom gray color every seems to love. I know I do, anyway. Thanks again—- Judi 😘 Sent from my iPad

Like

[…] of my Nail Polish by Brand Comparison I worked on last summer. You can see the results of this series here. I know this is a review post for CHANEL Vendetta but it has somehow turned into a review of how […]

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 334 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories

