Middle Aged Beauty Queen

50 Shades of Sunday ~ Orly Sterling Silver Rose

Posted on: October 21, 2012

For those of you new to my blog, welcome! This is a series I do every Sunday. It’s where I use a polish from my collection that I have never worn, for whatever reason. It’s a way for me to use my polish, not just look at it, but wear it. I hope this inspires you to take a look at your collection and maybe wear one you haven’t. You’d be surprised at the gem you might find!

20121021-121711.jpg
This is from Orly called Sterling Silver Rose. I bought this polish a few months ago. I found it in the discount bin at Sally’s Beauty Supply.

20121021-121918.jpg
I have a Sterling Silver Rose bush in my yard, so of course I had to buy it. I have never worn it because it is a frost finish. I do not care for a frost finish, on me. I like that look on others, I love the look of the white frosted nails, on others. Just not for me. As we all know, October is Breast Care Awareness (BCA) and because of this I have chose to wear pink for the month. It has been a little hard finding a pink polish, that I haven’t worn yet. This was an easy one to use for 50 Shades of Sunday, even though a gem was not discovered for me maybe someone else will like it. It has gone into the “find a new home” section of my nail polish collection. 😪

20121021-123027.jpg
About a month ago, I showed this blush from Sleek, called Flamingo. I had dropped it, resulting in the blush going into a thousand pieces. As stated on that video I said I would still use every bit of it because I loved it, it is my favorite blush. A viewer left a comment telling me about another video out there, that shows how to repair your broken blush, eye shadows, face powder, whatever has been dropped and shattered.

20121021-123540.jpg
As you can see, I did repair it. It is very easy. All I did was add rubbing alchohol to the case, let the alchohol mix with the blush to create a paste like substance. I used a plastic knife to mix it up a bit and then I used the back of the knife to smooth it. Once dried, the blush is back to normal. Not quite as good as new, but not a bad! There are tons of videos on this subject on You Tube. Most of them said to crush the product first into a powder. I did not do that. I just poured the alchohol directly into the pan. It became a paste pretty quickly. I don’t think you need to crush prior to pouring the alchohol.
🎉💗I’m so happy to have my favorite blush back in one piece!!!

20121021-124502.jpg

20121021-124515.jpg
My beautiful kids with me at Costco. They were arguing over whose Costco card they would use to get us in. Then a discussion of pictures on the cards revealed that when held upside down, Jilly and I look the same! It was cute. The kids thought they were embarrassing me, but they weren’t. They can never embarrass me. Those 2 people are my whole world. 👫

**UPDATE! I noticed the pictures of the blush look different, but only because the first time I took the pic, it was a bright sunny day and I used a pink background. Today is dark and cloudy and I used a yellow background. The color did not change from using the alchohol. The texture did change, however. This is a picture of a blush from the same company called Lifes a Peach. It is what Flamngo used to look like :

20121021-142036.jpg
The next picture shows Flamingo after being repaired and how with one tiny swipe of the blush brush a ton of color is on the brush. For the peach blush above, I used several swipes to get the smallest bit of color.

20121021-142205.jpg
To clarify, the color did not change, nor the way it blends into your cheeks flawlessly but the texture did change in that it takes the smallest of swipes to get enough blush to do both cheeks with some left over. This is a very highly pigmented blush, so you only need a small amount. The same goes for Life’s A Peach, pictured.

20121021-142730.jpg
These are both blushes from the same company, Sleek. The pink one was repaired after a terrible accident. The peach remains intact. I’m hoping you can see how the texture of the pink one changed. I still think this is a great way to repair make up that has been in a terrible accident. Especially for those favorite blushes!

💅As always, thanks for stopping by.

10 Responses to "50 Shades of Sunday ~ Orly Sterling Silver Rose"

Thank you so much for posting about this Judi! I just have a question, did the color of the blush change once it was back to one piece? It might be the lighting but the color on the before and after pictures shows a difference so I was curious if the actual color of the blush changed after being mixed with alcohol, thanks in advance! xoxo Ana.

Like

Thanks for the question, Ana. The color did not change, it is the lighting. The first pic was taken on a bright sunny day and I used a pink box as a background. Today it is cloudy and I used a bright yellow box as a background. The actual color of the blush is as pictured in the second picture. The only that changed on the blush was the texture. More of it picks up on the brush now than before. But otherwise it was a perfect fix and I was happy to find this little DIY make up fixer.
Thanks again
Judi

Like

I want to go shopping with you three if that’s the fun BEFORE you even start!LOL

Like

I want you to come shopping with us too! We do have a great time when the 3 of us get together. It doesn’t happen often enough as far as I’m concerned. But I know my kids have their own lives and I treasure each and every minute I have with them. But, I still would like to know why they had to grow up so darn fast? Thanks Linda, love your comments!

Like

Costco, one of my favourite stores. They are building a new one with a gas bar only 5 mins from me and is suppose to be open mid-November. As it stands I drive 45mins one way to get to one and have been for many years back when here at least you had to be a government worker or I think I shop owner to shop there. My son mentioned he will have to come pick me up so he can shop there with his girlfriend when it opens. Nah, I will get them a membership I already pay for his CAA (same as AAA) so whats another bill right? On the other hand shopping with my son would make me happy ; ) ~Diane

Like

Don’t tell your son, but you can add one person free to your membership. My daughter and I share a membership. We take turns renewing and paying the renewal fee. I think I’d paid the last 4 fees but this year she paid the fee! Whoo Hoo! I was so happy about that, you have no idea, I know, the main thing is just the time spent with them shopping or otherwise! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Love you!

Sent from my iPad

Like

Yes hubby and I share the same membership. We like to go on our own sometimes but that may be a good idea I never thought of. I could have the membership for hubby and I and son could have a membership for himself and girlfriend. Your a genius! Glad you had a great day with your kids shopping. Hope you don’t buy those giant muffins from there like we do. They are so tempting!

Like

Ha! No I don’t buy them because it’s just me, I end up throwing away or freezing ,more than I eat. Once they get in the freezer I forget about them until I’m hungry! 🙂

Sent from my iPad

Like

How clever!

Like

[…] sure it will be fine. I just can’t believe I did it again!. For full details on how to repair broken powder blush compacts. Anyway,on to more interesting things. Haute Look is having a great sale on Orly nail polish […]

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 334 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories

