Middle Aged Beauty Queen

50 Shades of Sunday ~ OPI Number One Nemesis (Spiderman Collection)

Posted on: November 18, 2012

This is my series called “50 Shades of Sunday”. The idea behind this is every Sunday I wear a polish from my collection that I’ve never worn before. I want to wear my polish, I do not want to ‘collect’ or ‘hoard’ nail polish. I hope this inspires you to wear a polish from your own collection that you may have missed.

20121117-232721.jpg
This is Number One Nemesis from OPI’s Spiderman Collection. This collection was released early in the summer, May or June. I bought this one then, along with Just Spotted the Lizard. I have not worn this one, it has been hiding behind the more popular kids in my collection. I really like this color, it is a medium gray with gold and green micro shimmer, which gives it so much sparkle. There really isn’t any glitter in the polish but the sparkle would suggest maybe there was. It has kind of a green cast to it in some lights. And if the light hits just right, there is a ton of sparkle. I like sparkle.

20121117-233057.jpg
This has a different formula from most OPI polish in that it likes to ‘travel’ on the nail. You know when you paint your nail and all looks good but then there is a bald spot in the middle and all the polish has pooled to the side? Yea, that’s what this did. I don’t like that! When that happens my first instinct is to add more polish, which of course only exacerbates the situation. So, I learned the hard way, thin coat for the first coat and a normal coat for the second. I have not encountered an OPI polish with this kind of formula before so I was surprised by that. But beside all that I like this polish and plan on wearing for a couple of days.

20121117-233532.jpg
Number One Nemesis is very much like Revlon Carbonite. Not an exact match, but very close. Carbonite is a bit lighter, but it has the same effect of the sparkle factor. (Carbonite is a dupe for CHANEL Graphite) the base of Carbonite is a lighter gray and has more of a gold and silver micro glitter. Even so, they are very similar. I went on-line to check if Number One Nemesis was a re-promoted name, OPI is very good at that. Some thought it was a re-promote of OPI Brand New Skate. But they are different.

๐Ÿ’…If you want your own bottle of Number One Nemesis or any other OPI, China Glaze or Venique nail polish you can email Me here and I will happy to send to you. The OPI is $9, China Glaze and Venique are $7. Free Shipping, US only but I will ship international if you want to pay the shipping. What I do is take your package all ready to go, down to the post office, they weigh it for me and tell me how much it will be. That is the amount I charge for International orders. I don’t want to make money from the shipping.

.

20121118-005254.jpg
On Sundays I like to share with you a personal little something. In my last post I put a picture of my kids as babies, just because the Laquerous post was kinda bothering me. I don’t like negativity so I popped their picture in for fun. So today I am popping this picture in of them all growed up, and all haired over. As my friend Willie would say! As you all know I am crazy about those kids! I cannot hardly wait for Thanksgiving, just to see them, hold them, smell them. . can you tell I’ve been missing my kids! Ha! I’ll end here, I sincerely hope you have a great Sunday and I hope you are looking forward to Thanksgiving with your family. ๐Ÿ‘ด๐Ÿ’ค๐Ÿ“บ๐Ÿˆ๐ŸŽถ๐ŸŽ‰๐ŸŽถ๐Ÿป๐Ÿธ๐ŸŽค

You can see my You Tube video by clicking HERE

๐Ÿ’…As always, thanks for stopping by. Have you found a polish in your collection that hasn’t been worn and you love it? Let me know in the comments below.

8 Responses to "50 Shades of Sunday ~ OPI Number One Nemesis (Spiderman Collection)"

Greetings from Birmingham, England! I love your blog! I was wondering how you get your polish to look soooo beautifully neat? Sadly I can’t do my own polish, especially with dark colours, as it just looks so awful! Can you share some tips or techniques?

Best wishes

Ellen x

Like

Thank you so much for the compliment. I have a lot of time on my hands so I just take it slow and do thin coats, let each coat dry. But, there is a you tube video from Mary that shows the best way to care for your nails and how to paint them. You can . Her channel name is ALoveTart if this link doesn’t work. She has videos on how to do a manicure, shaping your nails, fool proof painting, etc…. I have learned so much from her.

I hope this helps you. Please let me know what you think.
Xoxo

Like

I was thinking of getting it, but then I have a couple of similar shades (Lucerne-tainly…., On Her Majesty’s secret service).
If I did not have any of them, I think I would have gotten this.
Just to clarify, I do not know how similar these three shades are, it’s just that all grays look… well… gray to me. I’d love to see a comparison, though ๐Ÿ™‚

Like

If I may put a word here, my best friends in doing my nails are a corrector pen, an acetone dispenser with that cup-like top and a quick-drying top coat.
I find that with these three I can do pretty much anything look neat.

Like

Yes, you def need tools that work for you. I think there is no ‘right’ way to do your nails, but whatever works for you is the right way. I too use the acetone dispenser and q-tips work for me. My daughter, n the other hand just paints her nails without regard to staying in the lines, when dry she scrubs off the messes with soap and water. Her nails look nice so it works for her! Thanks so much for the comment. Xoxo Sent from my iPad

Like

I don’t have the others you mentioned, but I will see if I can get a swatch of them. If I can I will post it here. Thanks for the comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

Sent from my iPad

Like

Thanks for this Judi.I own the Revlon one ,so I am not tempted to buy OPI.I did buy OPI Just spotted the Lizard because of your recommendation that it was the Chanel Peridot dupe.It has a beautiful coverage and lasts very long on the nail,but like you,I get bored and change my polish usually before it shows wear.XO Linda

Like

I’m glad you liked it. I like that one too and have worn it quite a bit. As always Linda thanks for stopping by and commenting. Xoxo

Sent from my iPad

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories

