Middle Aged Beauty Queen

Men & the Half & Half Manicure ~ Just a Theory

Posted on: January 20, 2013

20130119-222550.jpg
Venique Heels d’Orsay and Kitten Heel Slide
I started doing what I call a half & half manicure a long time ago. It all started when I could not decides which polish I wanted to wear, so I wore them both. The half & half has evolved into a very simple, but fun manicure. When done properly, each finger has a different color. Meaning each of your pinky fingers will have a different color, each of your ring fingers, middle fingers will have a different color, you get the idea. So even though each finger is different, when looking at your hand you will have on 2 different colors, with the colors side by side.
I hope this is making sense. But let’s look at some classic half & halfs I’ve done over the past year.

20130119-223018.jpg
Wet n Wild Candy-Licious and Through the Grapevine
Where I live in the great and beautiful Pacific Northwest we don’t have a lot of choices when it comes to colors for Wet n Wild, or any other brand for that matter. When these 2 colors were added to the line up, I was so happy I had to wear them both, at the same time.

20130119-223200.jpg
butter LONDON All Hail the Queen and Yummy Mummy
I haven’t put these 2 together since this time. All Hail the Queen is s sparkly and Yummy Mummy is a beautiful cream, I just happen to like them on their own more.

20130119-223327.jpg
Zoya Lo and LC
Who doesn’t love a bright red and a bright pink together? Not one of my favorite combos, but I do like it.

20130119-223614.jpg
Barry M Capaccino and Grey
I came home from shopping and did this manicure. I’d seen a Revlon display where they were selling their duo sticks with these same colors. Luckily my brain was on that day so I didn’t buy the Revlon duo, because I already had these 2 colors. I do love this combination of beige and blue.

20130119-223854.jpg
Sally Hansen CSM with Commander in Chic and Greige™Gardens
My all time favorite combination for a half and half. Love these 2 colors individually and together. Gorgeous!

20130119-224132.jpg
Barry M Gelly finish in Watermelon and Blue Plum
This a Barry M duo that Nicky sent to me, with the Gelly finish. These 2 are different colors, in the pic they look the same but one is more green and the other more blue.

20130119-224233.jpg
Sephora by OPI minis in Break a Leg Warmer ( gray) and Ms Behavin (maroon)
I wore this half and half manicure to a football game at Martin Stadium in Pullman, Washngton. Maroon and gray are WSU’s colors, so this was a fitting manicure. The only problem? It was freaking cold in the outdoor stadium, with metal seats, that I had gloves on all day so not too many people actually got to see my great manicure! 😦

20130119-224521.jpg
Metal Flip ~ No names just numbers ~ loved this combination
Sometimes I just like the combination of 2 polishes, that was the case here. Strictly for fun.

20130119-224836.jpg
Rescue Beauty Loung Insouciant and Sally Hansen CSM Greige™Gardens
These are just a few of the half and half manicures I’ve done this past year. Some are pretty subtle like the Rescue Beauty Lounge with Sally Hansen Greige™Gardens. I do those to show how close a drug store polish is to a high end polish. One week I wore a half and half with Revlon Midnight Affair and CHANEL Blue Satin.
Okay, so now on to my theory about men and the half and half manicure:

The other night I was invited by my ex-father in law to play cards with him at the Community Center and I went. I had on the manicure from my butter LONDON Sweet Shoppe post. It wasn’t quite a half and half because I had a couple of Fiver (mint green) thrown in as an accent nail.

20130119-231936.jpg
There was not a whole lot of people there, I’d say 15-16, and a good mix of men and women. Across the board the women loved my nails. Across the board the men hated my nails. I have found this to be true no matter what combination I’m wearing or where I’m at. Men do not like my half and half manicure. Women do like it. Or at least they say they do.
My theory about men not liking the half and half is, I think men see things in black and white, most men, not all. I think men are very it’s this way or that way, no gray areas. It has been proven scientifically that it is easier for a man to stop smoking than a woman. A man will just decide not to smoke. End of story. A woman on the other hand will find all sorts of reasons why tomorrow she will stop smoking. It is easier for men to lose weight. A man will decide to go on a diet and he is on that diet. Women, again will find all sorts of ways to justify putting off being on a diet. That is because Women see the world in all colors, all shades of black and white. Women see all the possibilities whereas men see this way or that. Period. Think about it. Do you think men see things in all colors, all shades?
Anyway, that is my theory on why men do not like my half and half manicures. They think I should have just picked a color and stuck with it. Ha! Like that’s gonna happen.
I asked one of the guys playing cards why he didn’t like my nails, he said because its not my favorite color. I asked what was his favorite color, he said blue. Come Wednesday I see a blue manicure in my future.👼. I really liked playing cards at the Community Center and I hope I can keep playing. I felt bad because, Rick, my kids’ dad, had to sit out because the numbers weren’t right since I was there, but maybe this week it will be better. It was fun to play with my father in law again, we used to have a lot fun at our card parties. I hope my kids will continue in that tradition.

💅 As always, thanks for stopping by.

5 Responses to "Men & the Half & Half Manicure ~ Just a Theory"

Very well thought out Judi.I do agree with you.Men are just more direct in their thinking.Women will always second guess and see different possibilities.

Like

I totally agree, Judi! I think, in general, men are the “no gray area” thinkers when it comes to just about everything. Including color! I love that you go play cards with the folks at the community center – I’ll bet they love having you there! I LOVE that Barry M Cappuccino/Gray combo! I would never have thought to put those colors together, either but it totally works! ♥

Like

Half and half? What a fun idea!!! I like painting my nails with two different colours, one for each hand. It’s crazy 😀
Yes, men have a different point of view in everything. I know men who think girls/women with nail polishes are …. well, you know what. I don’t understand why!!!!
Have a great Sunday
xoxo

Like

Just for fun I asked my husband about this. He said men want to decide and get it over with and women are just more creative with color. Whatever the reason, I’m happy we wear the polish! I just don’t feel dressed without it. Have fun playing cards next week.

Like

i like the Zoya half and half and I think you are right… men are more black and white thinkers. They don’t seem to have that “grey” area like women do

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories

