Middle Aged Beauty Queen

Nail Polish Lottery Club ~ Week 3 ~ RBL Catherine H

Posted on: January 27, 2013

This is week 3 for our Nail Polish Lottery Club. 27Jan2013 . This has been such a fun experience and I want to thank all of you who have joined with us. Each and every one of you is a valuable and integral part of this “club”.
For those of you new to my blog, first of all Welcome and secondly, the Nail Polish Lottery Club was the brilliant idea of my friend Diana. You can find her here and her great blog here. The basic idea is that we want to wear our polish we have in our collections. We don’t want to hoard it, we don’t want to ‘collect’ it, we want to wear it.. Initially, here on my blog I would do what I called Sunday Series where I would wear a polish from my collection that I’d never worn before. This series morphed into 50 Shades of Sunday, which was fun for last summer but as the book ran its course so did my series. This is when Diana came up with the idea of using random.org to chose a nail polish to wear. So we all got busy and made spread sheets of our collections, including a numbered spread sheet of un-trieds. Really, this sounds way more daunting than it actual was to do. Once we had the highest number of un-trieds, I believe that number is 194, and no it’s not my number, Diana used random.org, put in 1-194 to generate a random number.

20130127-023707.jpg
For 27Jan2013, Week 3 of the Nail Polish Lottery Club, the number generated by random.org was 79. And yes I do have a 79 on my list.

20130127-024140.jpg
Rescue Beauty Lounge Catherine H LE is my number 79. I bought this polish last fall when I went a bit mad buying nail polish as if it was suddenly going to become illegal. I was curious about this polish and was very happy to try it this week. I’ve had it on for a few days now and I must say I am a bit disappointed in this one from RBL. These polishes are of the highest quality, made in small batches and the colors are supposed to be unique. I do not find anything unique about this color, on the nail it is a med blue. In the bottle there is all sorts of pink shimmer but unfortunately that pink shimmer does not transfer to the nail.

20130127-024654.jpg
The other thing disappointing was the tip wear. I’ve had this on about 24 hours.

20130127-024742.jpg
The other hand is just as bad. For a polish whose company takes great pains to make them so unique and such high quality, I think this was a real fail. I’ve been reading some other blogs about this same polish today. RBL has a handful of a few select bloggers she will provide with free polish to review her collections. Of course, those reviews are beyond positive. . You’d think Moses himself came back to make these great and wonderful polishes. But the funny thing was, when I was reading other, well respected bloggers who have tried the polish their feelings of it were pretty much like mine, which is meh. I am glad I have these 2 polishes from RBL (I did a color comparison of RBL Insouciant v. Sally Hansen Greige™Gardens. You can find that review here.
I really do not want this to be a negative review but I have to be honest in my findings. I mean, you guys can see in the pictures the tip wear and the color.

20130127-030003.jpg
I hope you can see the gorgeous pink shimmer in the bottle. I just wish you could see it on my nails.

20130127-030112.jpg

I am happy to have these 2 as part of my collection but I will not be buying any more RBL polishes. They are expensive $18-20 for a .4 oz bottle , which you know me, I’ll buy a bottle of $28 CHANEL – at the drop of a credit card, it’s not the money so much as the quality, I just don’t see it, and as far as the uniqueness of their colors, again I just don’t t see it. I really don’t get the whole cult following, people calling themselves ReBeLs just to have all the different colors.? It’s obvious that even though a color such as Catherine H Limited Edition I featured today is supposed to be gone when it’s all sold out. But this polish has sold out , more than once. So even if there is a polish form RBL you are dying to have, just wait a few months, it will be available again. Catherine H LE can be found here and sells for $18.

Let me know if you have any RBL polish, do you like it, love it, have to have it? I’m curious what your experience has been with it. please let me know in the comments below.

💅 As always, thanks so much for stopping by.

10 Responses to "Nail Polish Lottery Club ~ Week 3 ~ RBL Catherine H"

Don’t feel bad about your number – the maximum we have is 243 right now 🙂

Like

No, I don’t feel bad about my number. I know exactly how it got so high, too many great sales I couldn’t pass up. As in the Zoya 3 for Free, which we should receive this week! And I’m sending our lucky winner a few extras so that will get my number down a bit as well. She sounds like a very nice young girl. 💅

Like

Judi – I don’t own any RBL polishes, but I SO appreciate your info! The color is really pretty, but that’s too bad about the wear. I’ve gotten all my polishes listed by brand in separate documents and my next big task is going through them and making a list of the ones I haven’t worn – then I’ll be able to join in the Lottery! ♥

Like

I really appreciate your reviews. You tell it like it is. That’s why I have Estee Lauder on it’s way to my house. LOL ( I bought the mini 4 bottle set and one regular size) Thanks for always taking the time to answer questions and share news about nail polish. BTW You have the most beautiful blue eyes. Stunning.

Like

Hi Judi – Great review. I wanted to sign up for Diana’s blog, but I’m not sure if this is the right one. It’s not in English – and since I don’t speak a foreign language, I thought I would check in with you………thanks, Judy……..p.s.: just got back from CVS – couldn’t help picking up a couple of Sally Hansen’s on sale 50% off – got a couple for my sister also – to justify it – ha!

Like

Please do check out Diana’s blog it is: http://www.dianasmakeupblog.wordpress.com

Her you tube channel is: http://www.youtube.com/user/Dianasmakeupworld

Her twitter is @dianasmakeupworld

And of course I thin you can find her links in the Facebook page for the Nail Polish Lottery Club At https://www.facebook.com/NailPolishLotteryClub

Let me know if these work for you.

Which SH polish did you buy?

Xoxo

Like

Thank you so iChat for the kind words. That made my day! I hope you have a great week! 💅 — Judi

Sent from my iPad

Like

I agree with you – it’s a beautiful shade… but the tipwear. 😦 It should last longer taking into account the price category. But nevertheless thank you for showing and sharing your thoughts.
As for the Nail Polish Lottery Club, thank you for your inviation, and I’m sorry that I haven’t had the time getting familiar with this fun idea. Of course I would love to join; I’m currently listing my Chanel and Dior polishes, and it’s already 68 untried Chanel ones, with Dior being a similar number… 😯 I’ll be pretty busy until mid-February but hopefully I will get in touch with Diana a bit earlier. 🙂
Carla
x

Like

Thanks so much Carla! I think you will enjoy the NPLClub, it has been fun. Every week it is fun to see each others numbers. Monday’s a new number is picked and I can’t hardly wait to see what it will be. I have 135 un-tried polishes! I didnt think I had a big collection but I guess I do after all. I would love to see all your CHANEL and Dior. 😍. You have a beautiful collection from the little I’ve see on your blog. Xoxo– Judi

Sent from my iPad

Like

Love this color!

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories

