Middle Aged Beauty Queen

NOTD:Sally Hansen Gel Salon for Home

Posted on: February 9, 2013

20130209-205200.jpg
As most of you know Sally Hansen was kind enough to send me a gel at home starter kit. This kit comes complete with everything you need to get started with a gel manicure, including the light used for ‘curing’ the polish. Also included with the kit was a color to get you started. I first used this kit on my Mom.

20130209-205831.jpg
And it looked really pretty on her. I bought the gel polish in Commander in Chic, because as we all know that is my all time favorite color.

20130209-210023.jpg
I did all this work without reading the directions. Who needs directions, I’ve done this a thousand times. πŸ˜‚ I found out the hard way , I need directions! 😍 Once I read through the directions and realized what I’d done wrong I wanted to start over, so here we go, starting over, directions read! πŸ’… πŸ‘

20130209-210258.jpg
See the directions all folded up, yea, those directions, when you get this kit, read them! First thing to do is to completely remove all nail polish, base coats and treatments such as Nail Envy from your nails. (Originally I hadn’t done this step, as I always use Nail Envy), Once everything is removed use the wipe pad provided by Sally Hansen (but since I’d already used all that was provided to me, I used an alcholhol pad) to clean each nail. The key here is to have each nail clean as can be. Once your nails are clean you are ready to begin.

20130209-211446.jpg
Step 1, Base Coat: Shake this bottle vigorously prior to using. Another small detail I did not do initially. Apply the base coat in thin layers on four fingers of the same hand. Then cure this hand under the light. When you first plug the light in,it will come on, but just wait a sec and it will go off. When needed, push the button on top of the lamp, insert your fingers to let them cure. When the time is up the lights will go out automatically.

20130209-212312.jpg
Step 2, Color. Please note, if you want a clear gel manicure you can skip this step and go right to the next step. I did not skip this step as I wanted my beloved Commander in Chic right there with me. Shake this little bottle vigorously prior to painting onto your nails. I applied this in thin layers, being very careful not to touch the cuticle areas both bottom and side. I was careful to paint the free edge at the top of the nail however. This is important in all the steps so as no water can get into the gel system and ruin it. After painting, cure the polish under the light.

20130209-220312.jpg
Step 3, Top Coat. The final coat, again shake the bottle vigorously just prior to using. Paint each nail, then cure under the light. At this point you are finished. That’s all there is to it. Each nail will be a bit tacky to the touch, wipe the nails with an alcohol pad to remove any residue and your manicure is done. No dry time. No more dinging your nails while getting out your car keys. It is done. And it is beautiful and shiny.

20130209-221922.jpg
One thing to remember is to work on one hand at a time, doing only your fingers, then do your thumbs separately. Of course you could do your thumbs first, then your fingers but either way do each hand, then thumbs. I did my right hand, then my thumbs, then my left hand so I could make a video showing how easy this system truly is. You can see my You Tube video here
Once I followed the directions, this was very easy to do. I don’t normally show my right hand just because the way my iPad is set up for pictures it seems I always show my right hand but this is what my right hand looks like with the gel manicure.

20130209-222520.jpg
Hopefully you can see how easy this is to use, how easy it is to apply. I will keep you posted as far as maintenance and removal. I also plan to paint over the top of the gel manicure. I will be sure to use a non-acetone polish remover.
πŸ†’ One more tip to leave you with, when you are finished with your bottle, use the alcohol pad to wipe down the rim of the bottle. This is not a bad tip and it would be a good habit to get into with your regular polish. I have been trying to remember to wipe down the rims of my nail polish bottles. You know how sometimes they get goopy around the edges of the rims, this will keep that from happening.
For customer support and questions, please visit SallyHansen.com
You can purchase this system where most Sally Hansen products are sold. I’ve seen these kits from $99 to $49 so I would say do some shopping if you interested I. This system. I bought my bottle of Commander in Chic at Walgreens for $12.99, I had a $5 Walgreens coupon.

πŸ’… As always, thanks for stopping by!

Tomorrow is Week 5 of the Nail Polish Lottery Club and I’m so excited to show you my #6. Yes we had a single digit this time. I like the lower numbers because that’s where my Barry M are and my Chanel’s, along with some great Sally Hansens!

For more information about the Nail Polish Lottery Club,please visit our Facebook page and like us. Please, you know you really do like us. 😍 we are very nice people. I promise. Actually it has been so much fun, we should be arrested.

**Update**. The Sally Hansen gel system, yea, not so much. I did not have luck with it, again this time. I think my problem was too thin of coats. I know the beautiful Lori suggested the thinner the better, she said that’s how professionals do it. But, I’d forgotten this is not a “professional” kit, it is an at home kit. So yes,I will give it one more try, one of these days. Dang it, I really love the idea of it. 😭

20130210-205901.jpg
But in the meantime, look at these gorgeous nails from Sally Hansen LUSTRE Shine in Azure. Doesn’t get much better than that! This polish was also sent to me by Sally Hansen and I want to thank them for trusting me to review their products. 😘

3 Responses to "NOTD:Sally Hansen Gel Salon for Home"

How close is the gel color to the regular Commander in Chic? And do you think it covered well with one coat? I’m thinking of picking up a bottle to try out the brand. Thank you.

Like

It is very close to the color. At first I thought the gel was a bit darker, and it is, but not by much. I think it needed another coat or not such a thin coat. Mi was trying to go thin because someone said that was best but I think I should have gone a bit thicker. The gel lifted again and peeled off me. 😭 So maybe it’s something to do with my skin composition. I don’t know. If you want I will send you that bottle of CinC because I probably won’t use again. I may try a clear gel next.

Thanks for the comment.

Sent from my iPad

Like

Doesn’t matter that it’s not a professional kit it is the SAME gel polish as the CND & I could tell that your coats were not thin enough you need to swipe the brush over them several times each time wiping the excess onto the bottle that is how you get the thin coats. Try that and let me know πŸ™‚

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories

