Middle Aged Beauty Queen

Nail Polish Lottery Club ~ Week 6 ~ Maybelline Color Show

Posted on: February 16, 2013

I cannot believe we are on Week 6 of the Nail Polish Lottery Club!! But we are and this is my result for Week 6, but first a quick introduction for those of you new and have no idea what I’m talking about.
💅Sometime ago I started a series here on my blog called “Sunday Series” , the point of which was to wear a polish from my collection that I’d never worn before. “the Sunday Series” evolved into the 50 Shades of Sunday series. This was just me picking a polish I hadn’t worn. Then my friend Diana came up the Brilliant Idea to have a random drawing to chose a nail polish each week. Of course I wanted to participate, and from there it has grown. We still have the same goal, to wear a polish in our collection that has never been worn before.
Of course if you have any questions, please ask either myself or Diana, we are always happy to answer any question you may have and welcome new people with open arms!
Now on to my Week 6 results, the number generated by random.org this week was number 41. On my list #41 was Maybelline Color Show in Pink Shock 200.

20130216-180646.jpg
Maybelline Color Show in Pink Shock 200 has officially become the polish I wish I’d never laid eyes on. I hate this polish. Now, those of you who know me, know this is a strong statement coming from me, because the truth be told, up until now, there was not a nail polish invented I didn’t have a love for. Not so any more. This polish was thin, runny, took forever to dry, and I don’t know how many coats I had to use to finally reach some sort or opacity. as you all know I also hate the VNL (visible nail line) which this polish seemed to love and thrive off.
I started with a base coat of Sally Hansen CSM in Lavender Cloud as a base coat

20130216-181112.jpg
Which quickly turned Pink Shock 200 into a bright neon orange. And we all know how much I like orange. I removed all the evidence of the neon disaster and tried it with just a coat of the Julep Oxygen nail treatment which leaves your nails a pale pink, no VNL, until Pink Shock 200 is applied, then the VNL is out in full force.

20130216-181350.jpg
Finally I tried a base coat of Naked by Deborah Lippmann.

20130216-181847.jpg
I waited 24 hours after applying the DL Naked before I added my first coat of Maybelline Color Show Pink Shock 200, it still took forever to dry and there it was, creeping into my manicure, the VNL. I kept adding coats of Pink Shock 200, until I’d lost count of how many coats exactly but finally I felt it was presentable.

20130216-182111.jpg
Like I said, I lost count of how many coats are on this manicure, but this is how much is remaining in the bottle. I’m convinced the name “Pink Shock 200” is code for it will take 200 coats of this to reach full opacity.

20130216-182231.jpg
The bottom line is I give this polish ZERO STARS the color is not even a redeeming quality. But that’s the “fun” of the Nail Polish Lottery Club you never know which polish will be picked.
💅 😂 💅 😂 💅
I also own 2 other Maybelline Color Show polishes, that I wanted to try.

20130216-183102.jpg

20130216-183133.jpg
Maybelline Color Show Downtown Brown was the one I had the highest hopes for. Back in the 70’s I lived and worked in Seattle. My office was right across the street from the King Dome. We got free passes to all the happenings of the King Dome, which was a nice little perk because I could go to basketball games that I loved, and rock and roll concerts where I first fell in love with Mick Jagger, but that’s another story for another time. One of the players on the Seattle Super Sonics was named Gus Brown. He could make 3 point baskets so easy, they nick named him “Downtown Brown”. Ah, finally, you see my little story has a point! I also had the cutest little blonde cocker spaniel that my niece Jami had named Buster Brown, so of course I called him Downtown Brown. I know, weird name for a dog, but I guess you had to be there.
Anyway, I wanted this polish to be un-like the Pink Shock 200, but I’m afraid it wasn’t. I will still play with it and see if I can come up with a wearable combination because I do like the color, and the blue shimmer is awesome. I also like the name. I will give this polish a very shaky 1🌟. I reserve the right to revoke the star anytime I want.

20130216-183923.jpg
Plum Paradise 280 is the last of my Maybelline Color Show polish. And without a big long story or trip down memory lane, I will just say this has bit better of a formula but not much. Not so much that I’m willing to spend any more time on this one because I do not particularly like the color, I have many bright, metallic purples. And the name is nothing special for me. So this one too will also get ZERO STARS from me.

For more information abut the Nail Polish Lottery Club and to see everyone’s postings, pleasevisit our Facebbook page, and “like”

💰💰💰💰💰don’t forget about my giveaway ends in 3 days! Yay! go to this link, scroll down to enrt

good luck everyone!

💅As always thanks for stopping by!

5 Responses to "Nail Polish Lottery Club ~ Week 6 ~ Maybelline Color Show"

I was tempted to buy Downtown Brown,until I saw so many negative reviews on this polish brand.The colours are beautiful,but not worth the trouble.

Like

I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one with all the trouble! Thanks Linda!

Sent from my iPad

Like

Thanks, Judi, for this review. I don’t own any of these, but have often been tempted to try them. The main reason for my hesitation was the color selection; now your review has given me a better reason to pass on them. Thanks so much.

Like

I cannot believe how many tries you gave these polishes. Thanks for the review. I’ll steer clear of them.

Like

I always try to be helpful, even though it might be negative I couldn’t in all honesty say I liked this polish. Maybe it’s just me, but I’m glad you liked it.

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories

