Middle Aged Beauty Queen

NOTD: CHANEL LE Vernis 583 Taboo

Posted on: April 2, 2013

Why is it the ones we love the most, let us down the most? This is a copy of an email sent to me from CHANEL announcing their newest LE Vernis (Nail polish) color:583 Taboo from Collection Revelation.

20130402-110823.jpg
Gorgeous, right? I had already placed my order and received my bottle of Taboo the same day I got this email. When I first looked at the bottle in person I was disappointed because it looks nothing like the picture in the ad. It looked more orange than anything, and we all know how much I don’t like the color orange.

20130402-111847.jpg
😨 The real disappointment came when I painted my nails. The color on my nails looks nothing like the color in the bottle. It is a dark purple with some pink, light blue and gold micro/macro glitter. The only way I saw the glitter was through my loupe. This polish does sparkle in the sunlight, just like any other dark purple with micro glitter.

20130402-121603.jpg
This polish looked so familiar to me so I went through my collection looking at all the dark purple polishes I have, which is a few. I did swatch 8 polishes, the one that was closest to Taboo is from Estée Lauder Pure Color Smashed. I have Estée Lauder Smashed on my pinky finger in the above photo. As you can see they are very similar. I can see a difference, but what I am seeing is in the base color. Taboo has a very dark purple base, almost black base. Smashed has more of a dark violet base
I want to make this point very clear: Smashed IS NOT A DUPE for Taboo. But they are very similar. Which is why my Taboo is being returned to Nordstrom.

20130402-123405.jpg
This is Taboo outside if full sunlight. This is a great picture of the color I was trying to describe. To me it looks more orange than purple.

20130402-123533.jpg
My nails in full sunlight. Again a great picture of the bottle and how it transfers to the nail. Taboo is on all my nails in this picture.

20130402-123639.jpg
CHANEL Le Vernis 583 Taboo in the full sunlight is a gorgeous bottle of polish, I just wish the color in the bottle was the color on my nails. Very seldom am I disappointed by CHANEL but this was a complete disappointment. I would give this polish a 4/5 only because of the color issue. This may not bother you and it is a great polish. I had complete opacity with 1 coat, the brush is one of the best, it picks up just the right amount of polish needed, no pooling and no streaks. I have noticed in the last year that CHANEL’s polish is less fussy to work with. Taboo has a great formula, it is a beautiful color but I’m afraid CHANEL have priced themselves so high, that in my opinion, if the polish is not a 5/5 it will be returned.
You can find Taboo ($27) at most high end department stores. I bought mine from the greatest store on earth Nordstrom
You can also find Estée Lauder Smashed ($20) nail polish at Nordstrom.

What do you think of the “new subversive color Taboo” from CHANEL? Is it one you will be adding to your collection? Let me know if you picked up Taboo and what you think of it, I’d love to hear your opionions.

💅 As always, thanks for stopping by.

4 Responses to "NOTD: CHANEL LE Vernis 583 Taboo"

A shame! In the photo from Chanel you can tell that they used special lighting and maybe re-touched the photo. You’d think that they wanted to show the true color, no make an artistic photo.. Oh well. Sorry you are disappointed!

Like

You live and learn! This gives me a reason to try another CHANEL color though right? I’m thinking Fracas, but I have so many in that pink/corally color range. I am going to wait to return in person so I can look at all the polishes they have. So it might be a while. Thanks for the comment Diana!

Sent from my iPad

Like

Oh man, that is seriously disappointing. And no, that promo pictures looks nothing like the actual product.

Like

I should have known after Vertigo last summer, remember that one was brown with a gorgeous shimmer, it just looked brown on the nail. But luckily I bought it at Nordy’s so there won’t be problem returning it. 😘 Sent from my iPad

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories

