Middle Aged Beauty Queen

Much Requested Comparison: Essie Play Date & L’Oreal Royalty Re-Invented

Posted on: April 4, 2013

I have had several questions about Essie’s Play Date and L’Oreal’s Royalty Re-invented being dupes of each other.

20130404-144914.jpg
I think this photo shows they are clearly not dupes of each other. Play Date is a definite light purple, and even though Royalty Re-Inventented could be described as a light purple it is more blue than purple. I would call Royalty Re-Invented a lilac color and Play Date more of a lavender. Even though both descriptions are interchangeable with each color, they are not dupes of each other.

20130404-150446.jpg
These 2 colors together make for a pretty half & half manicure. Play Date is one of Essie’s better formulas. I’ve made no secret of the fact I do not care for Essie polishes. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, buying Essie nail polish is like buying a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re going to get. Of course, this a Forest Gump quote, but so fitting for Essie nail polish. I do like the formula of Play Date very much so, it is one of my favorite polishes. Wet n Wild Mega Last On a Trip is a very close dupe of Play Date. The WnW Mega Last can be found at most drug stores and retails for $1.99. You can find Essie at Walgreen’s, Rite Aid and Ulta. Nordstrom also carries Essie and they have the cubes of mini polishes for some of their collections. A single bottle of Essie retails for $8.
I give Essie Play Date a 4/5 stars ☀☀☀☀
The L’Oreal Royalty Re-Invented is part of their new spring colors from their Color Riche Trend Setter line. I like L’Oreal’s formula and I have found it to be consistent with the 15 colors I have from this line. A consistent formula is a big deal to me. I like this color and I’m sure I’ll wear it a lot this spring/summer. I just bought this color, I have not worn it long enough to give any stars.
L’Oreal Color Riche Royalty Re-Invented also reminds me of some other colors in my collection. When I get a chance to compare, and if I find any similar I will definitely let you know.

What do you think of Play Date? Do you have it? Love it? What about the L’Oreal Color Riche lines? I’d love to hear what you think of these brands/colors.

💅 As always, thanks so much for stopping by.

6 Responses to "Much Requested Comparison: Essie Play Date & L’Oreal Royalty Re-Invented"

I agree with you about Essie polish. I do not even bother anymore.don’t get me started on Fiji! Ugh…

Like

I’m so happy to hear I’m not the only one that feels that way!
Thanks for the comment.
–Judi

Like

I like both colors, they are great together! You said you found the L’Oreal formula consistent. I only have 2 colors – from you of course. 1 of them is fantastic but the second not so much, actually it’s kind of difficult to apply. Don’t remember the names right now…

Like

😨that’s too bad, I know I sent you a blue one with a London name and I can’t remember what else, but yes mine are all very easy to apply and I do like the formula. I’m sorry you got a bad one ;(

Sent from my iPad

Like

omg I agree too, the recent two that I bought were very watery.. I was very disapointed. I do love both of these shades though, I do love me some Loreal such a gorgeous lavendar. 😀

Like

💜so glad I’m not the only one! And I have been loving L’Oreal NP lately, I think the have stepped up their game in that dept. Thanks Amanda for the comment!

Sent from my iPad

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories

