Middle Aged Beauty Queen

A Personal Update

Posted on: January 20, 2014

Hello! And Happy New Year to everyone. No, I haven’t fallen off the face of the earth although this past month I have felt like I’d done just that. I want to thank all of you for your cards and emails. They have meant so much and I’m sorry I didn’t get back to you sooner. So, just what happened?

About the first of December I started work for my friend, doing his personal books. He owns an insurance company but he needed help with his own books. I’m happy to help him and was thankful for the job. On the 19th of December I had plans of going into work for a few hours but I just wasn’t feeling all that great. I drove to his office but I called from the parking lot to tell him I was going back home. He asked me to come in to look up his property tax due in another county (property taxes are due the 20th of December in Idaho). I’m telling you all this for a reason, bear with me. I told him I could do that and went into the office. I turned on my computer and put in the password and hit enter. That is the last thing I remember. I woke up as I was being loaded into an ambulance.

At the hospital they told me I’d either had a seizure or a stroke. Most of you know my Mom had a massive stroke a few years back so I was sure that’s what happened. As it turns out I had a seizure. I spent the next 10-14 days going back and forth to the hospital for cat scans, MRI’s, EEGs, and x-rays. I am so thankful to my son Drew, my Dad and my ex-husband. They were very generous in their time and providing me with rides, whether it was at noon or 3 AM I could count on “my boys”.

All the tests have come out fine, no sign of any blockages or aneurysm. I am taking an anti-convulsants medication which does not allow me to drive. I have been stuck at home, still relying on my boys, friends and family for rides to the store and Dr. appointments. It won’t be until the end of March that I can see the neurologist and she is the only one who can take me off the medicine and release me to drive.

The first 10 days after the seizure my muscles were all very sore. I felt muscles I didn’t know I had. I guess when you have an episode like this all your muscles, tendons and ligaments are stretched to the max. It felt like I’d gone to the gym and did too many sit ups, but from the top of head to the tip of my toes. Gradually this pain subsided except for my right arm. It has gotten worse each day and still hurts something awful.

12 Responses to "A Personal Update"

Judi, I’m glad to know you are okay and getting better, I hope the pain on your arm goes away soon and the doctors can find out exactly what happened. It’s so strange how things work out, if you hadn’t come in the office and just started back your car that terrible episode would have happened while you were driving… Clearly you have Big angels up there watching over you and keeping you surrounded with awesome loving and caring people.
I had wondered what was going on with you since I hadn’t seen a post or tweet but didn’t want to seem nosy, I thought you were enjoying the holidays with your family and your new son in law.
Thank you so much for sharing an update with us, I sure hope you feel better soon and back to normal.
Sending you lots of love and hugs.
Ana

Like

Thank you Ana. I agree with you about the angels! Much to love to you and yours.

Like

Hi Judi, I have been wondering about you. I am so sorry to hear about your trauma! I am so glad that you sweet guys have been taking care of you. You seem like the dearest woman. I will pray for you, Judi.
Fondly, Katherine

Like

Thanks so much Katherine. That means the world to me!

Sent from my iPad

Like

Judi I can’t tell you how many times I have thought of you.I wondered how you were but didn’t want to intrude if you were taking some time for yourself.I even almost sent an e-mail a time or two.I am so sorry to hear of your health problems.I hope you continue to improve and the doctor gives you the all clear in March.I think your angels must be working over time in heaven and Chris and I will pray for you too.Linda xo God Bless

Like

Hi Judi….girl, am I going to have to come up there and get you well???? I’ve missed you and like others thought you were just enjoying time with your family. I so agree about the angels. This could have turned out so much worse had you not gone into the office. You know you’re in my thoughts and prayers – hope you can feel my arms around you giving you a great big hug….patti

Like

Judi- that must have been scary. Hope you continue to recover and will be released to drive soon. I will keep you in prayer. Hugs! Elizabeth

Like

Hi Judi: Count me in on wondering why you were MIA. I also agree with Ana – you were so fortunate you were not driving at the time. My father spent 10 years in a nursing home from a stroke before he passed away, so glad to hear it wasn’t a stroke. You will certainly be added to the intentions in my rosaries, and I will pray for you to have a complete recovery. God bless, Judy

Like

Oh my god, Judi!! I am glad that you decided to go into the office. I would have hated for that to happen while you were driving, or alone at home. And thank god for your boys! Take care and know that Emma and I both miss you!

Like

Dear Judi,
I started reading your blog because I was looking for nail polish comparisons. I really enjoy it. I will pray that God will give you a complete recovery. May God bless you and your family.

Like

Welcome back Judi! I can’t imagine how difficult it must have been for you after the seizure. Glad to hear that you are slowly doing better, and don’t worry about not driving. You can get things delivered to your house, and if not, you can ask you kids to drive around and this way you’ll see more of them 🙂

Like

Oh no. I’m so sorry to read this but so glad your friend asked you to come in for a minute. He deserves an award! Good you have a band of helpers.

Like

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 335 other followers

Follow Middle Aged Beauty Queen on WordPress.com

E-bates.com is Money in the Bank!

If you're like me, you shop online more often than not. You need to be using ebates.com because they give you a percentage of your purchase amount BACK TO YOU. Please use this link: x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/ Which will take you to ebates, ten you pick your store and will be directed to their site. Each store has a cash back percentage, some more, some less. In 2015 my cash back amount was $138. I didn't do a lot of shopping because of, well you know. Try it, and please use my link because yes I do get a part of that back. I promise it will all go back into my blog to purchase nail polish lipstick and other items to review for you. Trust me, you have nothing to lose. I know I was very skeptical but now I just have to remember to go to ebates.com first! Let me know what you think.

Haute Look for Amazing Deals ~ A Nordstrom Company

HAUTELOOK is a Nordstrom company. They have a return policy that allows you to return items purchased online to be re- turned to their Rack stores. I have never had a bad experience shopping at Nordstrom nor HAUTELOOK. I HGHLY RECOMMEND BOTH STORES. Be sure to go to Hautelook on Monday Dec 1st To see what great deals they will have on butter LONDON polish. Butter LONDON is a mid-priced polish with a high end quality. I'll see you there, bright and early! http://www.hautelook.com/short/3Bg7v

Nail Polish of the Month!

For me the Polish of the Month has to be CHANEL, with their new formula that I happen to love. I'm not thrilled with the color choices and I'd like to know where I'm supposed to get a new bottle of May , which will be empty soon? you can find CHANEL polish at www.chanel.com or my favorite place on earth: Nordstrom www Nordstrom.com

Betty’s Blog

I have been a busy dog because my Mom has this new seizure disorder and its up to me to keep her home when she needs to. I also let her know when it's time to take me for my walk, my neighbors like me too.
My mom won't let me leave the yard but the other day I had to wake mom up and take her outside so she could call 911 for the neighbor lady who was having a heart attack. The firemen tried to take me with them but my mom, and I,, both said no.
It's starting to warm up and we have lots of birds and squirrels,. My mom doesn't like me chasing the squirrels, or the birds because we have a nest in one of the trees. She said we have to be quiet. Maybe I can send you a pic of the baby birds? I'll try.
Have a happy spring, my mom and are going to!
Love, Betty

Ettienne Aigner

https://support.google.com/adsense/bin/answer.py?answer=65063&hl=en&utm_source=aso&utm_small=link&utm_campaign=ww-ww-et-asfe_

Influenster Blogger

x-apple-msg-load://34551FF7-8289-409B-9D58-885154AB7BAF/

Categories

